Skip to content

Sewing Project: Frilly Umbrella Skirt

September 20, 2011

Frilly umbrella skirt from the back.

Let me start off by saying that I really need to start posting more often since I have done things which I feel I would actually like to document but haven’t. So to start that off, my latest sewing project that I finished was another skirt made with my Japanese fabric.

I looked around for a while for directions on how to make a frilly/ruffle skirt and couldn’t find anything I really liked for free so I ended up paying for a pattern from BurdaStyle for a Ruffle Skirt. It may have been because it was my first time using a pattern or because the pattern came from their German magazine, but I had a hard time understanding some of the terminology and directions. It worked out well with the help of the internet, it just took me a bit longer then it should have.

Quality wise, I think this skirt came out well. My only problem was that I didn’t have enough of the blue umbrella fabric for all the frills and then I went with yellow for the other color. After is started coming together I realized I might have preferred to go with another blue. Oh well. This one is just a bit louder then my clothing usually is. I may decide later to alter the center flounce and replace it with blue fabric, but for now it’s staying this way.

I also realized about halfway through that I cut up the frills wrong so that the umbrellas were upside down.

upside down umbrellas

So now it kind of looks like it’s raining umbrellas (oh and the rain drops are upside down too).

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 16, 2012 11:29 AM

    I wish I had learned to sew when I was younger. All I can really do is sew on a button and fix a hem. Great job on the skirt, I think it’s cute that the umbrellas are upside-down, that way you can see them correctly!

Leave a Reply

