Skip to content

Elephant skirt

May 21, 2011

I’ve been working on something a bit different lately which is a sewing project. You see I ordered these really cute fabrics from Japan about a month ago with the idea in mind to make a skirt (or a few).  Well I began working on my first skirt two weeks ago until I hit a snag when I realized my sewing machine did not come with a zipper foot. So after getting one, I was finally able to continue today.

This is my first sewing project from scratch involving a wearable. I’d only modified pieces of clothing before so I was a bit scared to ruin my fabric. So far it’s not too bad. It’s not perfect and I’ve learned a few things, but I can definitely wear it and it’s not ruined. I’ve almost finished except a few finishing touches, including possibly adding a different fabric border on the bottom since it came out a bit shorter then I like. Here are a few pictures as an idea of what the skirt would look like with the border.

Skirt layed flat. I had to add darts since it was too loose in the waist. I think I put the folds the wrong way though...

Close up of pattern combo. What do keys have to do with elephants? No idea, but I liked the colors.

Wearing it close up...

...and from a bit further away.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

