Skip to content

Button Beret

March 26, 2011

I always think black hats make me look like a hobo so I was hoping the fancy flower buttons would help. Still look like a hobo to me.

I mentioned in my last post that I had two failed knit hat attempts but I didn’t mention that I had also started on my third just in case that one failed as well. But apparently third one’s the charm! The difference came once I realized the yarn I had been trying to use was just not working. Yet again the lesson that yarn weight DOES make a difference. So in my third attempt I switched to a heavier black yarn (as opposed to a lighter gray, even though that was my preferred color) and success.

Throughout this as well, I also tried different patterns, mostly because I get bored of doing the same thing over and over again and since I was forced to keep remaking my hat, I figured I might as well. The first hat pattern I tried I actually completed before realizing it was two small. I’ll probably try this one again with some nice yarn that shows off the pattern because I really like it. The second one I tried I didn’t get too far before realizing it would be too small as well. The winning pattern (yet again, probably not the other patterns’ faults, just my yarn weight) was this Buttoned Beret. So here’s some pictures of mine which unfortunately is hard to get the details when it’s in black.

Beret bottom.

Beret top.

FYI here’s a link to my Raverly account: boredbraindamage

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

