Skip to content

Exhausted!

July 25, 2010

Though there really is no reason for me to be so exhausted except from the lack of eating I guess. Yea that’s never good.

Today (ok yesterday, I’m cheating and writing this the next day since I was too tired to write it yesterday, but let’s pretend) I went to this place here in San Francisco called SCRAP that is basically the worlds largest organized garage sale in a way, but full of art supplies or things that could be used for art. I’m not sure if it’s better to go in with an idea of what you want/need or to just get random things you see and go from there. I did a bit of both.

The reason I went was two-fold: I wanted to find a more sturdy but soft material to use in the inside of my knitted cake to give it structure but that wasn’t cardboard. I found a soft foam-y material that worked pretty well, but I wish it was a little bit thinner. worked alright though.

Second: I signed up for a class on crocheting granny squares since I thought it would be a good intro to crocheting and from there I could go on to make my much desired amigurumi. Not sure yet if it was helpful or not since granny squares is technically much easier and doesn’t involve the main thing I needed to learn. But it might have helped, I haven’t tried making anything yet. I should just have gone back to that youtube video. But now I know how to make granny squares!

Unfinished granny square

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    July 25, 2010 10:42 PM

    I’m bring my needles and some scrap yarn on Tues. I’ll give you more basics, including the essential..”how to make a circle/sphere shape” seeing as most of the round body parts will need that.

Leave a Reply

