Skip to content

Octy #2 and Chocolate Cake

May 28, 2010

A couple of days ago I finished my second octopus but for whatever reason didn’t upload the pictures in order to write about him.

Notes on Octy 2: You can completely tell the difference the yarn weight makes if you compare this to the first one I knit. Way bigger even though followed the same directions. Also, I used all the end bits from sewing on the legs to make hair. I used the same method to get rid of the yarn ends that were left on Octy 1 which is to just sew it through the bottom where they were to the top of the head then cut them off up there so they would end up going into the body. But this time I just left them all and trimmed them so they would look even. I like his hair, my boyfriend argues that octopuses don’t have hair…

As for the slice of cake, I just finished that.

I’m not sure how happy I am with it for just a few reasons.

1: The finishing. You can see where I sewed on the “frosting” to the “cake” part on top and a bit at the back bottom. If I knit another slice I’m going to have to be more careful about it showing. Maybe I should learn the proper technique to sew my pieces together?

2: The construction. First of all this was my first time knitting with two colors at the same time. It took me a while to get how to do it correctly which you can see from the following picture of the back of my work:

What I was neglecting to do at first was to twist the two yarn colors together which is why you don’t see the white bit at first (on the front it kind of just stuck out as if I was knitting on top of the brown). Once I realized what I was doing wrong (purely by accident, see the bits where the white starts to show) it started to look a lot better.

Also with the construction, I ended up making this same layer part about 1.5 inches longer then necessary. So I ended up tucking it in with the stuffing (found a place to hide the bit where the layers weren’t coming out right!) I also think I may have over stuffed the cake. I do like my strawberry though!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2010 9:46 PM

    So cute! I love the octopus!

Trackbacks

  1. Octy #2 and Chocolate Cake | rssblogstory.com

Leave a Reply

