Skip to content

Banksy in San Francisco

April 23, 2010

In all probability this will be post 1 of 2.

At work today I got a little too excited when my coworker told me Banksy had done some work in San Francisco recently. Quote: “Oh shit, no way!” So I managed to drag Edgar with me for a mini Banksy date; first to check out his Chinatown piece, then to go watch Exit Through The Gift Shop, which I had wanted to watch anyway.

First are my pictures of Chinatown:

Couldn't get a good full shot because there was a truck parked infront of it.

Close-up of doctor

"This is a historic artwork by Banksy to promote his new film. It's not graffiti. Do not erase it."

After wards we walked to the Embarcadero to catch Exit Through The Gift Shop. I think I have way more respect for graffiti  artists now. It was way enjoyable too. I just couldn’t believe Edgar didn’t remember seeing the Life is Beautiful promotions in Hollywood when we were there. I remember them because they looked interesting but not good enough to deserve huge billboards worth. I think at the time Edgar said something like, “It’s art students.” I think his comment takes on new meaning once you watch the movie. It’s worth checking out and joining the debate about the truth behind Mr. Brainwash.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 2:22 PM

    I need to go check that out when I get home!

Leave a Reply

