Skip to content

So close…

November 16, 2009

…yet so far away.

Ok not really, but yesterday I didn’t end up writing anything since I got home later then I expected and was too exhausted to write. So thus, my first skipped entry.

But I actually had spent the morning working on something, which was finishing up deciding which albums I wanted to submit to Spinning Platters for our Top 10 of the year. (I doubt any of them will get picked though, because I’m a pessimist).

His OrchestraField Guide to the Wilds


Mostly unknown band, record was only released on itunes and sold at thier shows, but I think it’s a really strong album. Basically the only song I would skip through is the instrumental, titled “Instrumental”, but even that isn’t long enough to bother me. Would love for them to get into the Top 10.

Florence & the MachineLungs

Before the record had been released I downloaded a ton of tracks because of the hype (re NME) around Florence & the Machine, and although there were a few good tracks, it still didn’t stick with me. This time I had a finalized album to listen to  and it made all the difference. I respond much better to the order of completed albums.

Yeah Yeah YeahsIt’s Blitz!


Yea it’s a good album (see what I did there?). I’d only really heard this while my boyfriend played it doing homework and although I kept thinking I should listen to it, I just never got around to it. Mostly because sounded like a mature Yeah Yeah Yeahs, which isn’t a bad thing, just missed the rawness of the first album.

Au Revoir SimoneStill Night, Still Light


A surprise here. I have to admit, I totally judge a book by it’s cover, or sometimes a band by their name. If they have an interesting name, I’m more likely to listen to them, and then I judge by what they sound like. In my quest to find 5 albums to nominate, I found Au Revoir Simone., which is totally up my alley. Now, I suck at describing what bands sound like, but I’ll try- maybe a little twee with electronic notes… um, they are better then what I’m making them sound like, trust me.

Emmy the GreatFirst Love


Although I reviewed this album for Spinning Platters, I still have a hard time remembering her name and keep calling her “fake Kate Nash” which in my book isn’t really a bad thing. So maybe Emmy the Great’s sound isn’t that original, I still thinks she writes really great story-songs.

A bit of the reason why I picked these albums was just to maybe get someone to listen to them and like them even if they don’t end up making it to our top 10 list.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

