Skip to content

Top Whatever List, cat tongues, and Douglas Coupland

November 14, 2009

My project for today was a bit strange. See yesterday the Spinning Platters staff got an email asking us to come up with 3-5 albums to submit for our Top 10 of 2009. What you may not know is I have a horrible memory. I don’t know what came out this year, what came out last or what technically hasn’t been released.

I decided the easiest way to do this was to look up what came out this year, other top whatever lists, figure out if some of the albums I liked had been released this year, then make a list of anything that would be a possible candidate and download anything I didn’t have. So that’s what I spent doing this morning. My list of about 20 got whittled down to currently 8 7. Sad thing is a lot of old favorites got kicked off, and some new stuff got on.

Now I’m in the process of listening to them to try to figure out which three can go and what needs to stay. So here’s my list so far:

  • His Orchestra- Field Guide to the Wilds
  • Florence & the Machine- Lungs
  • Yeah Yeah Yeahs- It’s Blitz!
  • Au Revoir Simone- Still Night, Still Light
  • The Veils- Sun Gangs
  • Camera Obscura- My Maudlin Career
  • Emmy the Great- First Love
  • Arctic Monkeys- Humbug

In other news, some more stuff actually happened yesterday after I finished writing my post about the cookies.

As I was eating my cookie, I checked on Twitter and noticed my friend Marie posted that Douglas Coupland was doing a book signing that night in the Marina. It’s a good thing I never have plans for a Friday night! So off I went dragging Edgar with me with the promise of deserts from Miette before the reading since it was a block away and I had wanted to go.

(Ok confession time. Part of why I started this blog was because I was reading the Black Apple’s Blog and realizing she was doing what I wanted to do. She’s being creative and dresses with style, and is a bit geeky- in that awesome excited sort of way- anyway, and she mentioned going to Miette when she visited San Francisco, and I wanted to go.)

So first, Miette: it was super cute and my cupcake was very delicious. Here’s a couple of pictures, including my favorite packaging for German chocolate called Cat Tongues (seriously).

Edgar keeps pointing out the cats look so sad- it's like they know we are about to eat their tongues.

Delicious boob cupcake... next time I'm getting a pair.

After this went to wait for the Douglas Coupland reading of his new book Generation A. Marie and I ended up giving him a chocolate bar I had bought at Miette for Marie, that had bees carved into it since they factor prominently in the book. Here is a picture of the signed book as well as of me with Mr. Coupland.

It says "thanks for the bee bar".

One Comment leave one →
  1. Edgar permalink
    November 15, 2009 9:41 AM

    WordPress thinks Lil Wayne and Jay-Z are related to your blog.

Leave a Reply

