Skip to content

Legion of Honor

November 3, 2009

Today I took advantage of the free museum day to go somewhere I’d never been before, the Legion of Honor. I would highly recommend you go there even if you don’t go inside the actual museum. On a nice sunny day there are gorgeous views of the city and there is actually a lot to see just from outside the museum itself, such as the architecture, the cast of Rodin’s The Thinker, and George Segal’s memorial The Holocaust.

But luckily I was able to go inside for free as well. I was able to catch the John Baldessari exhibit on one of it’s last days, and it had been something I was interested in going to for a while. Probably my favorite series of his were the Person with Guitar because 1) I’m a music nerd and 2) the textuure of the prints. I’ll try to illustrate it:

Person with Guitar (pink)

You can almost see how it looks in person, which is there is a big hole where the guitar is, and is filled in with a color block. You can see in this one how it looks like the finger is floating unattached because it was space not inhabited by the guitar. I really enjoyed seeing these in person.

Besides this there was a lot of fine art I enjoyed, even though I’m much more of a modern art fan. But here are a few detailed pictures I took that I really liked.

Terpsichore, Muse of Music and Dance

Thalia, Muse of Comedy

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    November 4, 2009 5:46 AM

    gaaaah.. such beauty.

Leave a Reply

